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1. FMX, INC. v. CRUZ, SC20170047 

Motion to Terminate/Vacate Foreign Judgment 

By way of background, this matter was initiated as an Application for 

Entry of Sister-State Judgment in March 2017. In June 2017, judgment 

debtor moved to quash “service of summons and complaint” on the basis that 

she is not a California resident. The motion to quash was denied. Now 

pending is judgment debtor’s motion to terminate/vacate foreign judgment. 

The underlying sister-state judgment here was entered in Florida. 

“Article IV, section 1 of the United States Constitution provides that ‘[f]ull 

Faith and Credit shall be given in each State to the public Acts, Records and 

judicial Proceedings of every other State.’ ‘It has long been the law that “the 

judgment of a state court should have the same credit, validity, and effect in 

every other court in the United States, which it had in the state where it was 

pronounced.” [Citations.]’ [Citation.] ‘Therefore, under California law, the 

judgment of a sister state must be given full faith and credit if that sister 

state had jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter, and all 

interested parties were given reasonable notice and opportunity to be heard. 

[Citation.]’ [Citation.]” (Liquidator of Integrity Ins. Co. v. Hendrix (1997) 54 

Cal.App.4th 971, 975 [63 Cal.Rptr.2d 240].) 

Thus, under California’s Sister State Money-Judgments Act (“SSMJA”), 

Code of Civil Procedure §§ 1710.10–1710.65, a money judgment obtained in 

another state may be filed with a California court and a California judgment 

immediately entered thereon. The judgment is entered in the same manner 

as an original judgment of the court. (Code of Civ. Proc. § 1710.25, subd. (b); 

see Conseco Mktg., LLC v. IFA & Ins. Servs., Inc. (2013) 221 Cal.App.4th 831, 

838 [164 Cal.Rptr.3d 788] [stating entry of sister state judgment is 
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ministerial act by court clerk].) The sister-state judgment is then fully 

enforceable in California. 

Judgment debtor’s motion to vacate the judgment is not timely. “Not 

later than 30 days after service of notice of entry of judgment pursuant to 

[Code of Civil Procedure] Section 1710.30 …, the judgment debtor, on written 

notice to the judgment creditor, may make a motion to vacate the judgment 

under this section.” (Code of Civ. Proc. § 1710.40, subd. (b).) The proof of 

service to the notice of entry of judgment declares that judgment debtor was 

personally served on June 20, 2017. Her motion to vacate the judgment was 

not filed until November 7, 2018, which is over 500 days from the date of 

service. There are no statutory or equitable exceptions that apply which 

would toll or otherwise extend the 30-day deadline. Accordingly, judgment 

debtor’s motion is denied. 

TENTATIVE RULING # 1: JUDGMENT DEBTOR’S MOTION TO 

TERMINATE/VACATE FOREIGN JUDGMENT IS DENIED. 
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