
 

Superior Court of California, 
County of El Dorado 

 
UNCLAIMED FUNDS INSTRUCTIONS and FORMS 

 
 

TO MAKE A CLAIM: 
  
STEP 1: Complete the attached forms:  Claim Affirmation Form and Claim For Money Held. Please 
type or print legibly in blue or black ink. Claims that are incomplete, illegible, or lack sufficient 
documentation, will not be processed. Claims must be made using these Court forms; any 
modifications to the forms will not be accepted.  The Court will respond within 30 days. 
  
STEP 2: You must sign the Claim Affirmation Form and have it notarized if your claim is over $1,000, or 
your claim will not be processed.  
 
STEP 3: Please read all instructions and provide copies of all required documents (driver’s license, 
etc.). Owners or heirs are required to provide documentation to validate their claims. 
  
STEP 4: Each claimant is required to complete a separate Claim Affirmation Form and Claim For 
Money Held. 
 
STEP 5: Please submit the completed forms, by mail or in person only, along with all required 
materials, to: 
  

Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado 
Attn:  Accounting 
2850 Fairlane Court #110 
Placerville, CA  95667 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

  



 

CHECKLIST FOR FILING A CLAIM 
 

ORIGINAL OWNER FILING CLAIM  
 
The following is a checklist of the documentation required when sending in your claim:  
 

Affirmation Form for each claimant;  

Affirmation Form, if your claim is over $1000;  

 for each claimant;  

 

umber for each claimant;  

th the last known address;  

 

riginal instrument used, such as a receipt, check, judgment, etc.  
 

 
DECEASED OWNER – HEIR(S) FILING CLAIM 
 
The following is a checklist of the documentation required when sending in your claim:  
 

 for each heir;  

 

ney Held Form for each heir;  

 

 

umber for each heir;  

funds being claimed; 

 original instrument used, such as a receipt, check, judgment, etc.;  

ith the last known address; and 

’s property passes to each heir, and in what proportion, by one of 
the following means: 

a) If probate of estate is open, the estate tax identification number and a copy of Currently Certified 
Letters Testamentary, dated within 6 months, appointing the executor or administrator of decedent’s 
estate.  

OR 
b) If probate of the estate is closed, provide the estate tax identification number and a complete copy of 
the Court Ordered Distribution of the decedent’s estate.                     

OR 
c) Provide a complete copy of the Trust Agreement and a copy of a document with the trust tax 
identification number, such as a tax return or a bank statement.  
 
 

 

  



 

BUSINESS CLAIM  
 
The following is a checklist of the documentation required when sending in your claim:  
 

 Claim Affirmation Form;  

 Affirmation Form, if your claim is over $1000;  

  

 

 original instrument used, such as a receipt, check, judgment, etc.;  

ehalf    
of the business;  

nt photo identification for the authorized officer or official;  

 

 

iation with the last known address;  

 

 

r of Good Standing from the      
Franchise Tax Board and/or the Secretary of State’s Office.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  



 

CLAIM AFFIRMATION FORM 
 

The undersigned claimant certifies, under penalty of perjury, that claimant has read the claim and 
knows the contents thereof, and that claimant is the owner of said claim and the person entitled to 
receive the money set forth in said claim.           
 
The claimant agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the state, the courts and their agents, officers, and 
employees from any loss resulting from the payment of said claims. 
  

CURRENT INFORMATION AND SIGNATURE MUST BE PROVIDED FOR EACH CLAIMANT OR 

YOUR CLAIM WILL NOT BE PROCESSED 

 
 

 
 

LAST NAME OR BUSINESS 
 

 

FIRST NAME 
 

 

MIDDLE INITIAL 
 

 
 

SSN OR FEDERAL 
TAX ID 

 
 

COURT CASE 
NUMBER 

 
 

CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS 
 

 

 

CITY 
 

 

STATE/PROVINCE 
 
 

ZIP 
 

 

COUNTRY 
 

 
 

  DAYTIME PHONE 
 

 

 

CLAIMANT OR AUTHORIZED AGENT 
SIGNATURE 

 

EMAIL ADDRESS 
 
 

DATE 

 
 
 
YOUR SIGNATURE MUST BE NOTARIZED IF THE CLAIM AMOUNT IS $1,000 OR GREATER  
For claims filed for a business, the authorized officer or official’s signature is required. For claims filed 
for an estate or trust, the signature of the executor, administrator or attorney is required.  
 
State of California  
County of ____________________  
 
Subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on this _____ day of __________________, 20___, 
by _______________________________, proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the 
person(s) who appeared before me.  
 
 
Signature _____________________________________ (Seal) 
 
 
 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Your Social Security number and other documents are requested for identification and processing of your 
claim. 
 
 



 

CLAIM FOR MONEY HELD 

 A SEPARATE FORM IS REQUIRED FOR EACH CLAIMANT. 

 
MAIL TO:  Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado 
  Attn: Accounting 
  2850 Fairlane Court #110 
  Placerville, CA  95667 
 
 
DATE SUBMITTED: ___________________           CASE NUMBER:  ______________________ 
 
OWNER NAME (AS HELD BY COURT): _____________________________________________  
 
STREET ADDRESS: _____________________________________________________________ 
 
CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE: _________________________________________________________ 
 
AMOUNT OF CLAIM: $ _______________________ 
 
CLAIMANT NAME (SHOULD MATCH CLAIM AFFIRMATION): _____________________________ 
 
RELATIONSHIP TO OWNER: ________________________________________________________ 
 
IF NOT THE OWNER, BASIS FOR CLAIM: (attach supporting documents as necessary)  

 

 

 
AFFIRMATION AND SIGNATURE 

 
I hereby affirm, under penalty of perjury, that I am the owner of these funds, or an authorized 
agent of the owner, and am duly authorized to make said claim upon the Superior Court of 
California, County of El Dorado. I hereby agree to indemnify and hold harmless the state, the 
courts, and their officers and employees from any loss, including attorney’s fees, incurred as a 
result of payment of the amount claimed.  
 
 

Signature: ___________________________________ Date: ______________________  
 

 
COURT USE ONLY 

 
□ Approved - Pay to Claimant Shown Above  Amount $____________ Date Disbursed:  ___________ 

□ Denied, Not an Authorized Claim 
 
 Date: ______________________ 
 
 By:  ______________________________________ 
 


