THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115 of the Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado, as of March 17, 2020. At the request of Presiding Judge Suzanne N. Kingsbury, an Order issued on March 18, 2020, authorizing the Court to implement certain relief provided in section 68115(a). Due to the pandemic, Governor Gavin Newsom has declared a statewide state of emergency, and President Donald Trump has declared a national state of emergency, both of which remain in effect.

Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Kingsbury, it is determined that emergency conditions, as described in Government Code section 68115 continue to exist. Accordingly, pursuant to Government Code section 68115(a) and (b), the Superior Court of El Dorado County is authorized to do the following:

- Hold sessions anywhere in the county, including in correctional and juvenile detention facilities, from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(1));
- Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending

wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));

- Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); and
- Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)).

Date: April 16, 2020

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council

T. Cantle Jakange